New bench vise!

No workshop is complete without a bench vise. I recently acquired the addiction of buying things dirt cheap on ebay, but for some reason 40lb of metal don’t seem to lose their value. After 2 weeks of searching I gave up and pulled the trigger on a new one:

Wilton 63302 6-Inch, $149.99 shipped from Amazon. I don’t know how Amazon gets away with it, probably cost them $30 to ship this. Maybe I should buy couple bags of concrete with Prime just to break the system. Anyhow, the vice is outstanding. Wilton made the jaws and leadscrew with tight tolerance, the package almost feels like a Kurt CNC vice. I’m going to feel bad hammering on the handle when I do use the vice as a press 🙂

To top things off, I got me some Aeroquip soft jaws to go with. Crimping AN fittings = so easy, a caveman could do it

Leave a Reply

