Designing the VQ30DE-K to VQ35DE LIM Adapter

As most of you would know, the VQ30DE-K (00-01) LIM ports are flat-sided oval, and the VQ35DE LIM ports are round. 350Z UIM on your VQ30? no way. nada. end of story.

Well maybe not. No matter how hard I try the 00vi simply refuses to fit under the 240 hood, and I don’t believe in butchering my hood. It all the sudden hit me – why not a 350Z manifold! 2 hours later the following is born:

VQ30DE-K IM Flange ver2

The piece is supposed to sandwich between the 350Z UIM and the DE-K LIM, allowing me to adopt the odd combination. Some of you might be wondering why I didn’t go with the VQ35 swap, or done the VQ35 head + VQ30 block combo. My answer to that is now I know.

Still need to pick up an actual 350Z UIM and get the actual measurements. Hopefully the old man back in the STL can whip this up for me in ABS for a reasonable price.

One thought on “Designing the VQ30DE-K to VQ35DE LIM Adapter

Leave a Reply

